Press "Enter" to skip to content

Stella Ndabeni-Abrahams: Biography, Age, Husband, Childrens, Career, Qualifications

BIRTH NAME: Stella Tembisa Ndabeni
PLACE OF BIRTH: Sakhele Village in Mthatha, Eastern Cape
OCCUPATION: Politician
HUSBAND: Thato Abrahams

Ms Stella Tembisa Ndabeni-Abrahams is the Minister of Communications and Telecommunications and Postal Services for the Republic of South Africa; a position she has held since 22 November 2018.

Early Life , Background And Childhood

Stella Tembisa Ndabeni-Abrahams was born in Sakhela, a village near Mthatha, Eastern Cape some 39 years ago. She is the first-born of six children in her family and her parents were pastors. She completed her secondary school education at the Holy Cross Senior Secondary School in Mthatha.


Stella Ndabeni-Abrahams has three children and married her husband, Thato Abrahams.

Image Credit: Drum Magazine


Ms Stella Ndabeni-Abrahams is currently enrolled for a Masters in Telecommunications, Policy and Regulation Management at Wits University. She further holds a Commonwealth Telecommunications Organisation Diploma in Telecommunications and Managements Systems, a Certificate in Telecommunications, Policy and Regulation Management (Wits University), an Advanced Certificate in Project Management (Rhodes University) and a Project Management Diploma (Cranefields College).

Career Background

She was previously the Deputy Minister of the Department of Communications (DoC) from 26 May 2014 to 30 March 2017. Prior to the 2014 elections, she held the same position in the then DoC (now Department of Telecommunications and Postal Services) from 25 October 2011 until 25 May 2014. Prior to being an MP, Ms Ndabeni-Abrahams was a Project Manager for the Eastern Cape Socio-Economic Consultative Council from 2003 to 2009.

Deputy Minister Ndabeni-Abrahams has been a member of the following parliament committees:

  • Portfolio Committee on Communications and Committee Whip in 2011;
  • Portfolio Committee on Defence and Committee Whip from 2009 to 2011;
  • Member of the Joint Parliamentary Committee on Defence and Intelligence; and
  • Member of the ANC Parliamentary Caucus Sub-Committee on Political Education.

She is currently a member of the ANC Eastern Cape Provincial Executive Committee, and a member of the Eastern Cape Provincial Working Committee.