Press "Enter" to skip to content

2018 SAFTAs Awards: Who is nominated and when is the ceremony?

The SAFTAs are the most prestigious event of the South African television and film awards season, here’s everything you need to know ahead of the big event.

What are 2018 SAFTAs nominations?

The nominations for this year’s South African Film and Television Awards (SAFTAs) have been revealed.

Here’s who’s in the running in the main categories:

Best TV Drama
Die Boland Moorde 2 (Moebius Films)
Harvest (Ochre Media)
Tjovitjo (Tjovitjo Films (Pty) Ltd)

Best Actress – TV Drama
Masasa Mbangeni as Celia Jele in Harvest
Thuso Mbedu as Winniein Is’thunzi
Zola Nombona as Roxanne in Z’bondiwe 3

Best Actor – TV Drama
Jody Abrahams as Benny Jacobs in Hard Copy 4
S’dumo Mtshali as Mandla in Is’thunzi
Warren Masemola as MaFred in Tjovitjo

Best TV Comedy
Hotel (Nouvanaand Films (Pty) Ltd)
Puppet Nation ZA (Both Worlds)
SuzelleDIY (Sketchbook Studios)

Best Actress – TV Comedy
Carine Rous as Anna in Elke Skewe Pot
Simone Nortman as Jone Scholtz in Hotel
Julia Anastasopoulos as Suzelle in SuzelleDIY

Best Actor – TV Comedy
Mandla Gaduka as Solomon in Gauteng Maboneng
James Borthwick as Ferdie Kruger in Hotel
Rea Rangaka as Mazi in Single Guyz 2

Best TV Soap
7de Laan (Danie Odendaal Productions)
Isibaya (Bomb)
Suidooster (Suidooster Films)

Best Telenovela
Gold Diggers 2 (Urban Brew Studios)
High Rollers 3 (Rous House Productions)
Isithembiso (Bomb)

Best Actress – TV Soap/Telenovela
Jo-Anne Reyneke as Thandi in Broken Vows
Kgomotso Christopher as Yvonne Langa in Scandal!
Denise Newman as Bridgette October in Suidooster

Best Actor – TV Soap/Telenovela
Siyabonga Thwala as Mpiyakhe Zungu in Isibaya
Hamilton Dhlamini as Banzi Motaung in Isithembiso
Mpho Sebeng as Neo in Ring of Lies 2

Best Supporting Actress – TV Soap/Telenovela
Zimkhita Nyoka as Olwethu Gumede in Gold Diggers 2
Mapula Mafole as Mapula in Rhythm City
Tarryn Lamb as Kim Adams in Suidooster

Best Supporting Actor- TV Soap/Telenovela
Patrick Shai as Jacob Moloi in 7de Laan
Pallance Dladla as Jabu Zungu in Isibaya
Mandla Gaduka as Damian in Broken Vows

Best Feature Film
Beyond the River (Quizzical Pictures (Pty) Ltd)
Inxeba (The Wound) (Urucu Media)
Kalushi (Flash Films)

Best Actress – Feature Film
Crystal-Donna Roberts as Krotoa in Krotoa
Reine Swart as Chloe van Heerden in Siembamba
Zimkhitha Nyoka as Zanele in VAYA

Best Actor – Feature Film
Grant Swanby as Steve in Beyond the River
Nakhane Mahlakahlaka as Xolani in Inxeba (The Wound)
Sihle Xaba as Nhlanhla in VAYA

For the FULL list go to:

When are the SAFTAs 2018?

SAFTAs award show will take place on on the 22nd and 24th of March 2018. You can catch the live show on SABC2 on the 24th of March 2018 at 20h00.

They will be held at the Sun City in North West.

The South African Film and Television Awards (SAFTAs) is an annual ceremony hosted by the National Film and Video Foundation.

The year the SAFTAs will be celebrating the 12th year.